About Us


A key limitation of the UN climate change negotiations is the lack of a level playing field between delegations, both North-South, and South-South. Another major obstacle lies in mutual misunderstanding and a lack of trust, particularly between industrialised and developing countries.

The European Capacity Building Initiative (ecbi) was launched in 2005 to overcome these limitations and obstacles through a number of capacity and trust building activities. The Initiative has three main areas of work:


Internal Management

The day-to-day running of the Initiative is managed by the members of the Executive Committee:

External Management

Strategic guidance for the Initaitive is provided by an Advisory Committee, with the following members:

Regular Members

  • Co-Chair: Kishan Kumarsingh (Trinidad & Tobago) 
  • Co-Chair: Lennart Båge (Sweden)
  • Maria Poddey (GIZ)
  • Jan Wärbäck (Sida) tbc
  • Susan Krohn (BMU) tbc
  • Emmanuel Seck (ENDA Energie), nominated by IIED
  • Carlos Fuller (Caribbean Community Climate Change Centre), nominated by OCP
  • Linda Siegele (Independent Consultant), nominated by LRI

Ex-Officio Members

  • Janine Felson, Deputy Chair AOSIS (Belize)
  • Sonam P. Wangdi (Bhutan), Tenzin Wangmo (Bhutan) LDC Group Chair
  • Tanguy Gahouma (Gabon), AGN Chair tbc

Emeritus Members (former Co-Chairs)

  • Farrukh Iqbal Khan (Pakistan)
  • Jan Cedergren (Sweden)
  • Bo Kjellen (Sweden)
  • Tosi Mpanu-Mpanu (DRC)
  • Pa Ousman Jarju (The Gambia)

The ecbi began with a one-year pilot phase (2005) and a two-year 'proof-of-concept' phase (2006-7). In 2008, the ecbi established itself as a longer-term European instrument for the sustained building of developing country negotiation capacity through a second Phase (2008-2011). Phases III and IV ran from 2011-2015, and 2015 to 2020, respectively. ecbi is currently in Phase V (2020-2025).

Privacy Notice

The OCP Privacy Notice Concerning the ecbi Network can be found here